Annual General Meeting 2018

On 27th June, 2018 the All Party Writers Group held the Annual General Meeting of the group for 2018.

The group elected the following officers:

Rt Hon John Whittingdale MP – Chair

Peter Wishart MP – Vice Chair

Giles Watling MP – Vice Chair

Lord Clement-Jones – Vice Chair

Baroness Benjamin – Secretary

Lord Dubs – Treasurer

In the year ahead Rt Hon John Whittingdale MP, Chair of the APWG told set out  the focus of the APWG in the coming year:

  1. Authors earnings: The APWG has launched an inquiry into authors’ earnings to further our understanding of how authors’ earnings have changed and what can be done to improve the situation of authors. After taking evidence the APWG will report on its findings at the Winter Reception in December.
  2. Fair contracts: the APWG will continue to encourage authors’ organisations to work with industry to establish high-level principles and best practice standards to apply to contracts between authors and those exploiting their works. In addition to this the APWG will support efforts to raise the issue in parliament and suggest potential legislative measures that would establish a better baseline for authors’ contracts.
  3. Brexit and copyright reform: As we leave the EU we will need to transfer a significant amount of EU legislation on copyright into UK legislation. Throughout these processes and debates we must argue for a balanced approach preserving a writer’s right to be fairly remunerated for the use of their works.

Minutes from the AGM can be found here: Minutes of 2018 AGM.